Fitch, Even, Tabin and Flannery - Intellectual Property Law

 1801 K Street, N.W.
Suite 401L

Washington, D.C. 20006

202.419.7000
Fax 202.419.7007

 

 

 

July 07, 2003

 

Via E-Mail: ******@yahoo.com

 

*****  ***** ********

***** ********* ********
****
**********, *****   ******

 

Re: http://www.nextelsucks.org/

 

Dear *******************:

 

We represent Nextel Communications, Inc. ("NCI") in intellectual property matters. NCI is a leader in providing wireless telecommunications products and services throughout the world.  NCI has used its famous NEXTEL mark in connection with telecommunications services since at least as early as 1988 and owns several United States federal trademark registrations for the mark NEXTEL, including registration number 1,637,139 in International Class 38 for telecommunication services.  As a result of NCI's federal registrations and its continuous use of the mark since 1988, NCI has exclusive rights in and to the mark NEXTEL.

 

 It has come to our attention that you have registered the domain name, http://www.nextelsucks.org/.  Your unauthorized registration and use of the http://www.nextelsucks.org/ domain name infringes our client's valuable trademark rights and unfairly trades upon NCI's fame and established good-will. The public is likely to be confused that the goods and services offered on your web site and other content on your website emanates from, or is sponsored by NCI.  Such confusion dilutes the strength and value of our client's mark(s). 

 

The activity that you are engaging in violates the Anti-Cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(d); federal anti-dilution laws, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c); and federal unfair competition laws, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a).  We therefore request that you immediately cease and desist from any and all usage of the http://www.nextelsucks.org/ domain name and transfer ownership of the domain name to NCI.  If you are registered with Verisign, visit https://www.networksolutions.com/en_US/name-it/rnca-edit-reg.jhtml, otherwise, contact your applicable Registrar.  Then, transfer ownership of the domain name to "Nextel Communications, Inc., 2001 Edmund Halley Drive Reston, VA, 20191."  Please list "Elaine Chin," at Elaine.Chin@Nextel.com as the New Administrative Contact.  Send a copy of the new ownership (i.e. Registrant) information to Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery within ten (10) days of your receipt of this letter.

 

If you believe that you are a Nextel Authorized Representative ("AR"), Associate Authorized Representative ("AAR") or Independent Sales Professional ("ISP"), you must still transfer ownership of the domain name or risk termination of the Nextel Authorized Representative Agreement between you and NCI. 

 

We would like to avoid litigation in this matter if possible, however, our client has authorized us to take any and all appropriate measures to stop your infringing use of its mark(s).  Your cooperation in completing the transfer of ownership will resolve this matter.  However, should further action become necessary, we are prepared to seek other legal remedies to obtain ownership of the domain name, an injunction prohibiting your further misappropriation and use of the NEXTEL mark(s) and monetary damages.  Nothing in this letter shall be construed as a waiver or relinquishment of any rights or remedies possessed by NCI, all of which we expressly reserve.  Should you have any questions, you may contact me at 202.419.7000.

 

       Sincerely,

 

       FITCH, EVEN, TABIN & FLANNERY

 

       /Sherri N. Blount/

       Sherri N. Blount